The First Night of Running School

Last night was the first night of the Women’s Only Running School. This program is designed to help new women runners get in shape and ready for a 5K on October 6th, the Women’s Only 5K. This year there are over 200 women participating!

I arrived around 5:40pm to the Natural Science Center, where the School was meeting for the first time. I was assigned to my team – the Red Team. Each team was identifiable by the color of their visors (in which case we should be the maroon team, but I digress). I saw a sheet on the sign-in table with all the teams and beside each was written a time. Our team said 7 minutes. I thought okay, that’s easy. It’s the first night and all we’re going to run is 7 minutes to get us started. Piece of cake.

I walk over to my group and introduce myself. We tell our experience with running. I share that I’ve been running for 3 whole weeks now, but that I’m completely addicted. Then the coach, Mary (who is really sweet and a good motivator) tells us that we’ll be doing three sets of 7:3 intervals. For those that aren’t familiar that means run 7 minutes, walk 3 minutes. At this point, I became a little nervous.

The training that Stewart (my sweet supportive hubby) and I are doing on off nights is a 2:1 interval (but we do that 10 times). Seven minutes sounded like a very long time to me. I was worried I was really going to embarass myself in front of all these ladies.

Did I mention it was 10 degrees hotter than hell? Well, it was. I had sweat running down my back just from standing in our circle and introducing ourselves – and we were in the shade!

Did I mention that we weren’t running on a track? Well, we weren’t. The only training I’ve had to date has been track running. There aren’t a lot of places to run in my small town so the high school track gets lots of visitors. But this wasn’t a track. Oh no, this is Country Park. A beautiful, HILLY, park designed for joggers, bikers, walkers, etc. HILLS! Freaking HILLS! (And I hear these hills are nothing compared to some of the locations we’ll run.)

After some group stretching (which is good because I really suck at stretching), we were off to start our interval training.

And, drum roll please…..I did it! I ran for 7 minutes each time she said run. Again, I say run but it was more of a jog/shuffle (♪everyday I’m shufflin’♪). But I did it!! Yay me! The hills were a challenge to say the least, but I pushed through. Downhill is officially my favorite part of this running course – haha. While trying to climb the last hill I felt like a geriatric stroke victim learning to walk again because I was literally having to internally scream at my legs to get them to move. But, again, I DID IT!!

So, day one of running school is complete. Check. Now I have to keep running on my own because we don’t meet again as a school until next Thursday and I can’t make that run because of a work meeting. Boo hiss. I guess my 2:1 intervals just changed to 7:3 – until next week and then they’ll switch to 8:3.

Rest days are here. Thank you, Jesus. I’ll run again on Sunday while at Virginia Beach. Woo hoo!

Stats this week: 120 minutes/8.25 miles/Average Pace 14:33 (damn hills, before Thursday I was averaging 13:34)/Weight Loss Total: 18.8 pounds and have dropped two pant sizes so far!

 

My Running School Team - Red Team

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. masters2marathons
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 00:20:49

    Congrats! Every milestone, even those that seem small, count! And its awesome you joined a running group to keep motivated!

    Reply

    • Kiwi
      Aug 04, 2012 @ 09:21:33

      I’m excited to be a part of a running group. And I appreciate your support – I’m taking it one day, one mile at a time and trying to stay motivated and positive through it all. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

AWHONN Connections

Where nurses and families unite

Running, In Search of a Better Self Image

Mama C and the Boys

2009 All Rights Reseved C. Anderson

Adoptmomof6's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Redeeming Infertility

Encouragement for the soul while walking through the valley.

Our Journey To Adoption

Adventures in Adopting from the Foster Care System

Then I Laughed

Life Is Serious. You Don't Have To Be.

What makes a Real family?

Take a mom, a dad, two dogs and add two daughters through open adoption!

A L!fe Lived

seeking the full life that only Jesus offers

Journey To Chaos (Our Adoption Story)

Join our family in our attempt to get bigger and louder via adoption of a sibling set in foster care.

Limbiley's Blog

Life&Love Trials&Tribulations Faith&Fortitude Redemption&Restoration.

on earth as it is in heaven

Running, In Search of a Better Self Image

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

Social Justice Solutions

Social Workers For Social Welfare

