Sore Legs and Frozen Peas

It’s been a while since I posted. Last Friday night, I did my normal 3 miles. My average pace was 9:25 (which is fast for me, woot! woot!). I got to the end of my run and immediately realized that my leg hurt. A LOT. It didn’t bother me while running, but as soon as I stopped I was hobbling and having trouble even putting my full weight on left leg, more specifically my calf.

So, I’ve done the standard RICE. Rest. Ice. Compression. Elevation. I’ve visited my running store to get their input…they agree that my method is correct and to be patient and let it recover. They also suggested compression socks (seen above). LOVE THEM.

I attempted to jog Wednesday night. Attempted being the key word. I made it a few steps and realized it was too much too soon.

So today, after one week and a day of rest, I went back out and tried again. I got in a mile and a half by alternating walking and jogging. The more distance I got in though, the more my form seemed to be suffering so I decided 1.5 miles was more than okay for my first day back.

So, now I’m sitting with a bag of frozen peas (best ice pack ever) on my leg and getting ready to take some ibuprofen. But, it felt amazing to get back out there. I really missed running – even if only for a week. It’s pretty cool how much I love running now.

Image

A bonus to today – the start of another passion of mine – NFL football. GO STEELERS!

Oh and the running and eating healthy is paying off – I’m down about 34 pounds now!!

What NFL team do you pull for?

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lalasworldblog
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 15:01:48

    Shin splints.. I didnt know twhat they were until I became a runner they hurt!

    Reply

  2. masters2marathons
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 17:32:44

    Yep! Know how the injury road goes, glad its only minor! and keep up the RICE routine as part of your running routine to help overall performance!

    Reply

  3. Urban Running Girl
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 22:05:17

    Sorry to hear about your calf. Yes, hopefully the rest will do it some good. Perhaps some good stretching exercises, and also a massage might help to take away some of that tightness. Take care & Happy Running.

    Reply

  4. BlondeAround
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 12:38:37

    BTW- My Grandparents are from Pittsburgh & take a girls trip to Heinz Field every year-even though I am a Tennessee girl all the way..I have my Terrible Towel ready for the Princess Half!! GO STEELERS!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

AWHONN Connections

Where nurses and families unite

Running, In Search of a Better Self Image

Mama C and the Boys

2009 All Rights Reseved C. Anderson

Adoptmomof6's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Redeeming Infertility

Encouragement for the soul while walking through the valley.

Our Journey To Adoption

Adventures in Adopting from the Foster Care System

Then I Laughed

Life Is Serious. You Don't Have To Be.

What makes a Real family?

Take a mom, a dad, two dogs and add two daughters through open adoption!

A L!fe Lived

seeking the full life that only Jesus offers

Limbiley's Blog

Life&Love Trials&Tribulations Faith&Fortitude Redemption&Restoration.

on earth as it is in heaven

Running, In Search of a Better Self Image

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

Social Justice Solutions

Social Workers For Social Welfare

Our Adoption Voyage

Sharing the ups and downs of adoption in Asia.

