Lessons Learned About Race Attire and Plans for Disney Princess Half

I have now completed two races. One had a costume component; one did not. I have learned a lot of lessons about race attire already.

  1. Wear clothes you have run in before.
  2. Tutus do not make for an easy race.
  3. Dress as if the temperature is warmer than it really is – you’ll heat up – FAST.
  4. Just because you look cute doesn’t mean that you won’t regret your choice a mile in.

So, with all that in mind, I’m thinking about my attire for the Disney Princess Half in February. I’m definitely going to have some type of “costume”, but now I know that I have to make it “runner friendly”.

Hubby is running the half-marathon with me. Best. Husband. Ever. When we had to name our team, I was planning to be Snow White so we named our team “White and Grumpy” (a play off the parody song by Weird Al Yankovick, “White and Nerdy”). But now I’m contemplating changing my character decision and trying to decide between Snow White or the Queen of Hearts. Yes, I know this is a Princess race, but I like to be different and I like the Queen of Hearts. So, my dear blog readers, which would you pick?

I started looking for costume ideas the day I registered for the race. If you’re interested in some of my favorites, check out my Pinterest board here.

A few things I’ve already decided. First, there will be no tutu or bulky skirt in my future. Second, I will definitely be ordering a Team Sparkle skirt. I love these and they look super comfy.

Team Sparkle

More posts related to the Princess Half to come!

Have you ran a race in a fun costume? Is there anything you would have done differently?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. masters2marathons
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 17:33:19

    I want to run a race in a costume, but might be some time in the future! Good tips!

    Reply

  2. BlondeAround
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 12:40:23

    Great post!! I am a newbie..and very confused on the costume thing! Of course I wanna look cute and sorta in costume..but I also don’t want to be uncomfortable on that run!! I’m thinking Cinderella..for many reasons..First movie I ever saw..and of course I’m a shoe junkie! Love Team Sparkle too! Can’t wait for more posts!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

AWHONN Connections

Where nurses and families unite

Running, In Search of a Better Self Image

Mama C and the Boys

2009 All Rights Reseved C. Anderson

Adoptmomof6's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Redeeming Infertility

Encouragement for the soul while walking through the valley.

Our Journey To Adoption

Adventures in Adopting from the Foster Care System

Then I Laughed

Life Is Serious. You Don't Have To Be.

What makes a Real family?

Take a mom, a dad, two dogs and add two daughters through open adoption!

A L!fe Lived

seeking the full life that only Jesus offers

Limbiley's Blog

Life&Love Trials&Tribulations Faith&Fortitude Redemption&Restoration.

on earth as it is in heaven

Running, In Search of a Better Self Image

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

Social Justice Solutions

Social Workers For Social Welfare

Our Adoption Voyage

Sharing the ups and downs of adoption in Asia.

